Yufe4Postdocs is an ambitious training program cofunded by Horizon Europe’s Marie Sklodowska-Curie programme.  It will  recruit and host no less than 51 postdocs in various disciplines.  These will define and develop their research projects addressing urban opportunities and challenges within YUFE focus area’s: sustainability; digital society, citizens wellbeing; and European identity.

Postdocs carry out their projects in full autonomy, anchored in a YUFE host university of their choice. As architects of YUFE’s research ecosystem they will also foster research collaboration with a co-host in a partner YUFE university.

The training will  foster skills development for interacting with and responsiveness to societal stakeholders and for a mindset towards open science and innovation.  Ten city councils and six business organization will contribute in the training or mentoring activities.

Attractive 36 months positions will be offered in all of the YUFE universities following two open calls, a first in April and a second in October 2023, aiming for candidates from Europe and beyond.

Selected postdocs of the 1st call can be appointed around 1/1/2024.

Future calls

A first call will open on 1st of April 2023, open for candidates with a research project on urban challenges or opportunities in the Focus Domains ‘Sustainability’ or  ‘Digital Societies’.

Watch out for the calls’s pre-announcement on March 1st 2023.

In the meanwhile, discover the wealth of potential host research groups in all YUFE universities here:

About YUFE

The YUFE Alliance connects nine young research-intensive universities located across Europe.

The YUFE partners came together based on their shared dedication to the European spirit, their common aim to contribute to a more competitive, innovative and united Europe and their ambition to help address today’s challenges.  They collaborate since 2019 as a first generation European University Initiative and recently entered a new phase with renewed support of 2022 ERASMUS.

YUFE University Partners are Maastricht University, Nicolaus Copernicus University, Universidad Carlos III De Madrid, University of Antwerp, University of Bremen, University of Cyprus, University of Eastern Finland, University of Essex, University of Rijeka